Do you know which grains are gluten-free and which aren't? Take a look at this list and test your knowledge. (Answers at the bottom.)
Grains in the above list that are gluten-free: Amaranth, brown rice, buckwheat (a fruit seed related to rhubarb), millet, quinoa, wild rice, and teff.
*Ordinarily, wild rice is gluten-free; however, it can contain a barley blend, so make sure to read labels in supermarkets and ask chefs about this side dish when dining out.
(Farro is an ancient form of wheat, originally from Egypt. Freekeh is a young, green wheat from the Middle East. Teff is an ancient grain, originally grown in Africa.)
Sources: Celiacdisease.about.com; bobsredmill.com; vegetarian.about.com